Celiac Sprue is a disease involving the intestines and it is extremely important to avoid gluten containing foods like wheat">


Celiac Sprue is a disease involving the intestines and it is extremely important to avoid gluten containing foods like wheat, rye, oats, and barley to prevent further damage to the absorptive cells lining the intestinal walls.  A veterinarian, recently diagnosed with celiac disease, has developed a theory about how celiac disease and the excitatory neurotransmitters glutamic acid and aspartic acid play a role in the damage caused by this disease.  We have recently found that many persons who report a sensitivity to MSG also report an inability to tolerate wheat products in general.  This seems an odd coincidence until we realize that, grain products have been bred to contain more and more gluten which is very high in the amount of glutamic acid bound into its protein chains.  This fact figures prominently in this veterinarian's theory on why wheat can be such a problem for many people, and why, perhaps, it wasn't meant to be in our diet in the first place.  See: http://dogtorj.tripod.com

MSG is on the list of foods for celiac patients to avoid.  Wheat is such a good source of glutamic acid, as is soy, and corn, that MSG is often made from these foods.   

Celiac patients also are often diagnosed with multiple food allergies.   The celiac diet is a difficult diet,  but there are other alternative grains to use, and several books and websites that provide gluten-free help.

Celiac patients are told to avoid:
Wheat Flour
Whole Wheat Flour
Gluten Flour
Graham Flour
Semolina Flour
Gravies thickened with wheat flour
Candies - some makers dust equipment with wheat flour
Dextrin - may be made from wheat
Envelope Glue - may be made with wheat  - use water or better yet, get self-sealing envelopes Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein - HVP or Hydrolyzed Plant Protein - may come from wheat Imitation Seafood - also known as sirimi - may use wheat as a binder
Modified Food Starch - found in medications as well as foods. Check all prescription and OTC drugs
Veined Cheese - may contain bits of French bread
Beer, ale, gin, vodka, whiskey
Flavored and instant coffees, some herbal teas,
Root beer
Wheat Tortillas
Wafers, biscuits, croutons, bread crumbs, doughnuts, graham crackers
Anything with malt flavoring, or Malt syrup, malted milk
Rice Dream products - yes even these - a barley enzyme is used in processing.
Flavored Yogurts, some ice creams, some light or fat-free dairy products,
Artificial cream, processed cheese spreads, some chocolate milk drinks
Pies, cakes, cookies (not gluten-free), commercial pudding mixes, ice cream cones, cake mixes
Some commercial salad dressings, some mayonnaise
Commercial canned fruit with gluten thickening
Imitation Seafood
Prepared meats, canned tuna with Hydrolyzed Vegetable or Plant protein (HVP)
Self-basting turkeys (often injected with HVP)
Canned Soups, dehydrated soup mixes, bouillion, and boullion cubes
Creamed, breaded and scalloped vegetables
Some baked beans, some prepared salad mixes
Commercial candies and cake decorations
Some ketchup, some mustards,
Soy sauce
Some mixed spices  

Chick Pea or Garbanzo (avoid if you are allergic to soy also)
Milo - used for baking Millet - crumbly so use with binder Mandioca - use for crackers
Chestnut - crumbly so use with arrowroot
Tapioca - use for binding and thickening
White sweet potato

One of the contributors to this website, who must eat a gluten-free diet, frequently uses two excellent recipe books - The Gluten Free Gourmet Bakes Bread and More From the Gluten Free Gourmet (both by Bette Hagman).   We don't advertise any products on this website, but we would be remiss if we do not mention these two indispensible books for avoiding gluten.  Our only caveat is that in some of the recipes, rice milk is mentioned.  Rice Dream rice milk is actually NOT completely gluten-free due to the use of barley enzymes in its manufacture.



2016 MSGTruth